This week on the mountain

Well it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

It’s June and it has been raining off and on all month, making it difficult to get any work done outside.  I have been making progress on the stone wall,  though it seems that I never have enough stone to finish the job. I hauled in what I thought would be the last load judging by how much I had left to do, but once more, it wasn’t enough.

Put up the log rafters a few days ago, now to clean them up a bit more before sealing them. I also have to secure them in place with lag screws somehow.

My diesel generator quit again, so yesterday it got hauled back to the shop. The guy that repaired it for me last time thinks the voltage regulator isn’t shutting off when the battery is fully charged.  I should have it back by Monday.

Down at Bud’s diner, the old loggers have been spending their days fishing, so I haven’t seen much of them lately.

Allen is cutting wood like a madman, with no money to do any building this year, he is bored, so by winter he will have quite a few years of firewood cut and split.

Starting work on the rainwater storage next week, someone had left behind a small deck they had in front of a travel trailer so I now have it here as the floor for the rain barrels. With a little more support I think it will work just fine.

Well that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

