4th of July Week

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.
The fourth is behind us now, and July has officially set in, though the weather has been cooler than normal this past week.
I have been busy hauling in free flooring and other assorted lumber, and spending my free time pulling nails and moving all my lumber down to my lower lot so I can have more room and a neater looking place around the cabin.
All of my chainsaws were giving me problems, but all except one is now up and running again.
I will be doing the firewood ritual shortly.
This is a theme up here on the mountain, always preparing for the inevitable march of old man winter.
Allen has nothing better to do than cut wood, so he will be prepared by snowfall, though with his funds as tight as they are, he might not have enough sundries to pull him through a hard winter. But at least he’ll be warm.
Jack has been in and out this summer, planning on staying the winter, but doing very little to prepare. Lucky for me he is on Allen’s side of the mountain.
Down at Bud’s diner, the old loggers have been doing quite a bit of fishing these days, rain or shine, so I haven’t seen much of them my infrequent trips into town.
Sara, one of the waitresses at Bud’s, is ready to begin her student teaching. She will be leaving Bud’s and pursuing her career as a full-time teacher.
Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

