This week on the mountain

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

Summer has finally arrived, hot days and cool nights are now the norm. Working outside much past ten am is not recommended unless I take lots of breaks and drink lots of water. Evenings are cooler, I enjoy a quiet evening watching the sunset on the deck with a cup of tea before bed.

Allen has been so bored that he has taken to doing road work, going around filling in washouts and grading what he can with a shovel and steel rake. I “helped” some yesterday,  I drug two fallen trees up from down below me, the branches raking the road and generally raising much dust. But they did help bust up some high spots along the way.

I think I have almost all the firewood I will need for this coming winter,  though more is better and I will continue hauling it in until I have to leave the truck at the bottom for the winter. There still plenty of good wood left in those slash piles, and I hate seeing those trees going to waste.

This morning, I was planning on cutting up the trees I drug in yesterday, but for some reason, it’s extremely painful putting weight on my right foot today. I might go into town, instead, and see what the old loggers are up to down at Bud’s diner.

Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

