Another quiet week

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

Been busy trading things I don’t need for things I do. As a result, I now have six snowmobiles,  though two of them are only parts machines.

I gave up my old 65 Chevy pickup, my non-running Polaris and Allen’s Honda Trail 90 for the first four machines. Got an old Skidoo and an Artic Cat and two Skidoo parts machines.

13989428_550262181828411_1247181869_n

That same day two old Yamaha machines popped up and I went and traded a rifle I had got from Earnest T before he and his family moved to Chile last year.

The two Yamahas are good machines,  the only thing they need are the fuel tanks flushed and new fuel lines, both are two cylinder air cooled and lightweight, which is good for Allen.

13956758_550262198495076_555249772_n

I gave him one of those and he picked the Skidoo as a backup.13942474_550262191828410_1740087639_n

Allen has been wanting to start building an addition onto his cabin, but hasn’t had the funds for wood, so the other day when I was out and about I found quite a bit of free lumber. Now it’s not pretty,  nor new, there’s a lot of nails to pull,  but I hauled it up to his cabin and he was more than happy to have it.

Been a little behind on my wood cutting, but as long as it’s all finished by mid-October, I will be ok. I think I have enough trees down, I just need to cut and split.

My diesel generator should be fixed soon, the mechanic found a rebuilt motor for it cheap and should have it up and running shortly.

The days are getting shorter, the nights are cool and there’s been a few thunderstorms rolling through this week slowing things down up here, but that’s alright, I do enjoy a good storm.

The pines up here are full of pinecones, more than I have seen since I have lived up here. Allen says that means a long cold winter this year. We shall see.

Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

