Fall is here

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

September is in full swing, though I don’t remember last year it being so cold. The fall rains seem early this year and I have had to have a fire going almost every evening. This has me a little worried about having enough firewood for the coming months. I would like one more cord, but I don’t think I’ll have the time before the snow hits.

The weather has been the main topic of discussion by the old loggers down at the diner these days. Most of the old guys are getting in a few more days of fishing before it gets too cold for their old bones.

Jack has been up cutting firewood with Allen’s help, though I don’t believe he will try and stay the whole winter. Jack is not the most ambitious guy, so I think Allen is doing most of the work.

Teepee guy is gone, left without a trace. I’m not sure if he realized what was coming, or if wolves right outside his teepee flap convinced him he needed to move on.

The pilgrims are still here, though still have nothing in the way of preparation to survive the winter. She doesn’t get paid until the end of the month, and he doesn’t start work until after the first of next month. At this rate, it’s doubtful they will have enough firewood  or any kind of transportation for the coming winter. I have done all I can to help, but I am already a month behind in my own preparations and can do no more. It’s survival of the fittest up here, and those that can’t, or won’t prepare do not make it.

Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

2 thoughts on “Fall is here

Leave a Reply

