October cold

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

October is here, bringing with it colder temperatures than I have felt up here in the three years I have lived here. I have had a fire going just about every day. This has me a little concerned for the coming winter, not sure now if I have enough wood to last until spring.

There’s been reports of snow in the mountains to the east and north of me; even the Grand Tetons have been hit with winter early; passes in Montana have been closed due to snow; and heard that Kellogg, a town just to the northeast of me, got three inches of the white stuff yesterday. So I’m not sure I’ll be able to haul in more firewood before my truck has to be parked at the bottom of the hill for the winter.

I have been putting some distance between myself and the pilgrims as of late.  Though they are nice enough folks, they seem to subscribe to just about every conspiracy theory there is, and I really have no patience for that kind of nonsense. It seems other folks at the bottom of the mountain are of the same mind, as the pilgrims have been asked to stop coming around at a couple of homes down there.This will not bode well this coming winter when we all depend on each other to survive up here.Even Allen has been avoiding them lately, only taking his generator down long enough to pump their water and fill his jugs.

Down at the diner, the owner took out the only two round tables in the place and replaced them with four square ones. Now the old loggers have to pull two tables together when they hold court mornings there.

I have most of what I need for my winter projects stacked on my porch.  A few more days and I will be ready to work inside without having to dig out my materials first; unlike last year, when I left it out and had five feet of snow over it and gave up trying to dig it out.

Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

One thought on “October cold

  1. Conspiracy theories. I believe I have heard them all. Many have some truth buried in them, but a lot of bogus conjecture that muddles everything up. Please tell me they are not flat earthers, and if you are, I’m sorry; I just can’t go there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

