Rain, rain, go away

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

Rain, rain, and more rain has been rolling through all week, though Sunday we had a few hours break and some sun managed to shine for a few hours. Long enough for Allen and I to pull a few more dead trees up.

I got a full load, and just as I got them unloaded, the rain started again.

Today was another nice day, so I spent it cutting, splitting and stacking all the firewood I have left. I would still like one more load, but I think that’s not going to happen before the snow hits us.

Picking up the parts for my UTV tomorrow and hopefully will have it all back together by the weekend.

My diesel generator seems to be trouble free for now. I just hope it stays that way for the rest of the winter. Can’t easily load it up in my UTV and haul it off this mountain, and with no backup, I will be pretty much screwed if it goes down on me again.

Haven’t seen much of the pilgrims since I had to haul their daughter into the emergency room at the hospital. I did find out she did need stitches to close the wound. I will be happy when they have left the mountain for town, another failed attempt by folks that have no business being up here.

To live up here requires a certain amount of crazy and no fear of dying. Allen almost didn’t make it his first year, and still believes I am about the craziest person he has ever met.

This year should be better for Allen, he is better prepared than last year, even scrapping together enough lumber to build a small addition onto his cabin. I think he will be fine.

Down at the diner, the old loggers are still holding court in their own unique way. Everything from the weather to politics has been argued over at the round table. It’s a shame the world’s problems can’t be solved as easy as it is around that table.

It’s hunting season, and there have been a few diehards braving the rainy weather to get a shot at a deer. A few have been heard going up the “main” road west of me before the sun has even poked up over the horizon.

Snow is in the long term forecast. Looks like it will start around the first week of November, and judging from the rain storms that have moved through as though they were on a conveyor, we might be in for a hard, cold winter up here.

I am as prepared as I can be, so I am not concerned.

Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

