The end of October, and the year my mother and I tried burning the barn down.

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

We’ve had almost an entire month of rain, though the sun has peeked out once or twice for a few hours. In between storms, I managed to finish up work on my UTV, at least the much-needed repairs; finishing the cab will have to wait for another day.

The few hardwood trees we have are now past peak fall colors, and leaves blanket yards in town, waiting for homeowners to rake them up.09-fall-leaves

When I was a boy in New Hampshire, people would burn the dry leaves along the roadside, I used to associate fall with the smell of the burning leavesburning-leaf-pile

I even remember the year that my mom burned the leaves.  I shoveled the ashes into a wheelbarrow, soaked them with water, then dumped the whole mess in my dad’s garden. After we were through, my mom went in for a nap and I went for a ride on my dirt bike, coming home a few minutes later to find flames three feet high in the garden and heading for our barn. Mom and I did the best we could trying to put out the fire until she decided to call the fire department.

Now this was a small town with no fire department of its own, so the trucks had to come from the next town over, and it was, as most small towns, an all-volunteer fire department. Well, by the time they showed up, she and I had the fire out and saved the barn, which was full of dry hay for the horses. The firemen gave everything a good soak down and headed back to town. I still kid my mom from time to time about the time we almost burned the barn down.

The pilgrims did a walk through on a house in town today.  They are hoping to be off the mountain by the end of next month; though by then, there could be a few feet of snow, and with no transportation, that could make the move almost impossible.

Jack showed up yesterday afternoon.  Not sure how long he plans to stay this time, or if he is hauling in more firewood for the winter. He is pretty much Allen’s problem, as his cabin is closer to his than mine.

There had been rumors of another family moving in before the end of this month, and it was confirmed today when a pickup towing a trailer loaded with firewood came up the road. The truck had no wood loaded in it, and as it came up the steep grade, it was struggling for traction. These folks are supposed to be from Northern Montana and should know better, but that might be a pipe dream.

I don’t want to sound heartless, but quite frankly I am sick of folks that know nothing about what it takes to live up here moving in last minute and hoping to survive. These new pilgrims have one child I believe and, from everything I have heard so far, no means of transportation off this mountain this winter. But it’s not my problem.  They have a cabin further up the mountain, around the south side close to Allen; so he can deal with them if there’s trouble.

I think I am as ready as I can be for winter, though I would like another load of wood. Don’t think that will happen, as cutting wood in the rain would cause my hands to quit working and take a day to recover.

My pain in the ass diesel generator is coming off the mountain for good this weekend; can’t afford to spend any more time nor money dealing with it. The mechanic says he will fix it one more time and I can leave it there until it sells. With winter storms forecasted soon, and the possibility of power loss, it hopefully won’t take long to sell.

Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

