November snow

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

Snow has finally arrived, leaving around six inches by the time it stopped yesterday afternoon, making traveling up and down a little difficult.

Winter, the first snow. Everything you know changes. The mountain takes on a different kind of quiet, and this new silence takes a while to get used to.

The trees branches hang heavy with their new crown, and even the feel of the air is different.

It is unsettling at first, this new silence; but in a few hours, it becomes normal and life moves on in a fashion that is somehow slower now.

As children, we all looked forward to the first snow. It signified change, a new, fresh beginning, and we reveled in its purity. Then, as we got older, we began to dread the snow. It became an advisory, something we had to vanquish; an inconvenience to our very existence.

I still try to capture that feeling of my youth when the first snow hits.

Allen is finally working on his snowmobiles. He doesn’t want to get caught like he did last year when he barely made it off the mountain with his pickup.

The pilgrims are gone. They left a few days ago, though they left quite a few things behind that they now won’t be able to retrieve until spring; including the broken down van that the wife and kids showed up in.

They are now living in a camping trailer in town. Seven people cramped into a thirty-foot camper. Doesn’t sound good to me, but at least they are in town and don’t have to worry about getting up and down this mountain now.

More snow is in the forecast for the week, so after today, my pickup will be parked at the bottom of the hill.

Now that winter has arrived, things will slow down up here. I will keep busy writing and working on the inside of the cabin. I hope to finish one room by spring, and since I started on the bathroom, this is the one I will finish.

Besides My Kitchen, I have found a new place in town to hang out when I need reliable internet. A coffee shop called Always Grounded. The owners are friendly and they serve good coffee.

There’s always good music playing there and a person can relax and enjoy a good latte or just regular coffee. I have been spending quite a few of my afternoons there recently while I figure out this book marketing thing. Which, by the way, is a lot more complicated than you would think, and I’m not as tech savvy as the younger generation.

Speaking of My Kitchen, I stopped in the other day for lunch and found a group of older ladies sitting at the table the old loggers occupy early in the morning. I haven’t been in the diner afternoons and had never seen them before, so I guess it’s the old loggers’ table mornings and the ladies sewing circle in the afternoon.

Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

