The weeks news Allen and the twins.

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

Bitter cold these last few days. I’ve had quite a time keeping the cabin warm.

The last storm that was forecast to hit us left only about four inches after it was all over. The next storm is heading in later today and is supposed to last until sometime Saturday.

Allen was on his way here Tuesday when he was almost run over by the twins. He caught movement out of the corner of his eye and looked to see both running beside him, keeping up with his snowmobile. He braked just as they turned to cross the road in front of him.

I, myself, had a cow moose nearby, yesterday, looking for something to eat. This time of the year, forage is hard to find, and they will eat bark or even twigs.

My snowmobile broke the drive belt yesterday evening as I was going down the mountain. I had to wait until this morning so I had some light to be able to change the belt. Up and running again, though I think the carburetor is now leaking fuel. I have another one that I need to take to town to get rebuilt and will be doing that next week.

I haven’t been into town lately and don’t know what the old loggers are up to these days. I should take the time to stop by and visit soon.

Not much really going on these days since winter has everything up here at almost a standstill. That’s life on the mountain. Winter is a time for old dogs and old men to sit by the fire and reminisce.

Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

