The weeks news

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

More snow has fallen, making the snow drifts below me interesting to navigate. Teepee Guy and Allen have both been down there trying to keep the drifts level. I just laugh, because it’s such a waste of time. The wind picks up and all their work is gone. But, that’s their headache.  I have no fear of rolling over on those drifts. My experience riding snowmobiles gives me enough confidence to get through them.

I am temporarily without my UTV as it is still waiting on repairs. Hopefully, it will be fixed soon.  Hauling supplies up by snowmobile takes longer, since more trips are required due to the size of the sled I pull, and I can’t haul as much weight because of the steepness of the final leg of the road up to the cabin.

Larry and Moe lost one of their dogs to cancer. It has been a sad week, she was a sweet dog, always friendly. Her sister has been lost without her. Larry and Moe had gotten them as puppies, and they haven’t been without each other since birth.

I finally finished the 12-volt wiring system. Now I need two inverters, and I will be able to run my few 110-volt appliances without having to run the generator. Hopefully, I will only have to run it once a week, or less, during the winter to keep my batteries charged. During the summer, with more sunlight, my solar panels should keep things fully charged.

Winter is hard on equipment.  I’ve had to tinker around with both snowmobiles so far. They are both old machines, one from the 70’s and the other from the 80’s. But, they are easy to work on, and I am managing to find the few parts I need without too much hassle.

Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

One thought on “The weeks news

Leave a Reply

