This week’s news

Well, it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

It’s been warm this past week; temperatures have made it feel almost spring-like up here.

Down in town, they weren’t prepared for all this snow we’ve had and are still trying to get the side roads cleaned up. Normally, it would have melted off by now, so they were caught with their pants down.

Yesterday down at My Kitchen, Dawn, one of the few gals that managed to find employment after Bud’s diner closed, had left her lights on on her truck last Friday when she came to work. I was just finishing my coffee when she was leaving, planning on walking home and hoping to get the local auto parts store to jump start her truck. I told her I had cables and wouldn’t mind helping out. So in a few minutes, she was up and running and avoided the chilly walk home.

Allen has been keeping busy with the snow drifts below me.  He is trying to stay busy; finding anything he can. I told him he needed a hobby, or at least wait until winter to do his inside work.

Coming home yesterday, a delivery truck had managed to get sideways in the road right at Larry’s place. It took an old dozer to drag him out after about an hour of the driver trying anything, from tire chains to throwing furniture pads under the tires. Never a dull moment around here.

Still trying to get this place off the generator and onto full-time battery use. It seems the inverter I picked up still isn’t big enough to run my refrigerator. So this weekend, weather permitting, I will be headed north to the city once more. This time I plan on buying an inverter big enough to run the whole cabin.  I’m tired of messing around with it; though my lights, and a few other things, will still be on the 12-volt system.

I haven’t seen any moose lately.  Normally I would have run into one on the road by now, or have one in my yard. I think they have moved further down the mountain even though we haven’t had the snow we would normally have by this time of year.

The days are getting longer; spring isn’t far off, but up here there will still be snow until June, making getting around difficult with a snowmobile. Too many patches of bare ground will mean lots of hiking. Any supplies needed will have to be brought in prior to that time, or won’t be in until after the roads are dry.

Well, that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

3 thoughts on “This week’s news

Leave a Reply

