The weeks news

Well it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

Tina’s carpal tunnel surgery was this week, and I was trying to get a lot done before I lost my helper.

Not much in the way writing or editing got done this week, and I’m not sure how much will get done next week.

A group of people here in town want to have a real shooting range, with safty officers, decent facilities, a building for training, and an overall safe place for people to go and shoot. Right now, most folks go to an old dump outside of town. No safty, or any control.

I somehow found myself on the board of directors for this project and today we all went to look at a piece of ground for the proposed range. This should be interesting as it progresses. I will keep everyone posted as things develop.

Our sheriff was gone for training for the week. Something for all the sheriffs in the state. I guess it’s a yearly thing. So no new stories from him this week.

It seems the more I try to get accomplished around the cabin, the more turns up that needs doing. So far, a woodshed has been added to the list of things that must get done before the snow flys again.

Now that I am down to just me, this, plus getting in enough firewood for the season, will be a challenge.

I had an elk walk past the cabin this morning. First one I have seen around in the almost four years I have lived here.

They must have damn good hearing, because I said something, from inside the cabin, and the elk immediately looked up at me and started moving faster. Sure wish I had had my camera close, and had kept my mouth shut.

Well that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

