The weeks news. Seabees

Early this week to make up for being late last week.

Well it’s been another quiet week up here on the mountain, my little slice of heaven.

I was a Seebee during my second time around in the Navy reserves. The Navy said I hadn’t seen a torpedo in many years, but I had been driving a rig, therefore, Seebee it was going to be.

Now Seebees have a reputation for being the world’s best scroungers, they will beg, borrow, or most likely steel what they need to get the job done. I am no exception.

I haunt the websites where free stuff can be found and jump on anything there I can use to improve my life up here on the mountain.

A few weeks ago it was metal roofing that came off a rather large shop. Early last week it was two nice work benches for a shop.

This week it was around $600 dollars in used lumber, most of it still usable. I now have quite the lumber yard here to complete the building of my small shop. Any lumber left over will be donated to Allen or the new folks that are moving into a piece of land between us.

Yes, there is a new couple moving in, and unlike the folks that have tried, and failed, in the past, these folks want to learn from my mistakes and do the right thing.

They aren’t moving in until next spring, but are currently doing what they can to improve their place to be ready for winter when they do move.

They stopped by here the other day and introduced themselves. They are our ages, and don’t want to cause any undo hardships for those of us that live here already. They asked a lot of goid questions and got a lot of good information from us. They seem like a fun couple and will be a big asset up here next year.

They plan on putting tracks on one of the jeeps they own and using it to get up and down. Also, they will be adding a plow to it to knock the snow drifts down. There’s a real bad drift that happens every year between my cabin and theirs, Allen has spent many days breaking through it at times, and it has held him up from going into town more than once, so a jeep with a plow will make life much easier for him.

I’m getting lots of projects done around here this summer, some I planned, others just happened. At this rate I will only have one major project to do next summer, rainwater storage.

Well that’s all the news for the week. Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

